Tuesday, September 7, 2010

The 2010 Ryder Cup

This years Ryder Cup will be held at the Celtic Manor Resort in the City of Newport, Wales from October 1-3, 2010.   Although the event is still a few weeks away, there has been much anticipation to hear the captains picks which will round out each of the teams.  While European captain, Colin Montgomerie made his picks last week, US captain Corey Pavin has just announced his selections and they are: Tiger Woods, Steward Cink, Rickie Fowler and Zack Johnson.

Team Europe will be comprised of Colin Montgomerie, Luke Donald, Ross Fisher, Peter Hanson, Padraig Harrington, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Martin Kaymer, Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy, Edoardo Molinari,  Francesco Molinari, Ian Poulter, Lee Westwood, Thomas Bjorn, Darren Clarke, Sergio Garcia and Paul McGinley.

Team USA, lead by captain Corey Pavin will also include Phil Mickelson, Hunter Mahan, Bubba Watson, Jim Furyk, Steve Stricker, Dustin Johnson, Jeff Overton, Matt Kuchar, Rickie Fowler, Zack Johnson, Stewart Cink and Tiger Woods.

Both teams bring an unbelievable amount of talent to the table making it difficult to select a favorite, however based on recent tournament results, we broke it down player by player and have to give the edge this year to the American Team.